Admissions · United States
Georgia Tech Acceptance Rate: Admissions Statistics and English Requirements
Georgia Tech admitted 13.3% of first-year applicants for fall 2025: 8,921 of 66,881, according to its Common Data Set.
Georgia Tech publishes its admissions figures in the Common Data Set from Institutional Research & Planning, with first-year applicants and admits split into Georgia residents, out-of-state US applicants and international applicants. Below are the last three cycles, those splits, the wait list, early action, transfer figures, and the English proficiency rules for international applicants.
Figures read from official sources on · LingoLeap Admissions Research
Georgia Tech acceptance rate by year
Georgia Tech acceptance rate for in-state, out-of-state, international, transfer and early action applicants
| Group | Cycle | Rate | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|
| Georgia residents | Fall 2025 | 29.5% | 3,691 admitted of 12,527 source |
| Out-of-state (US) | Fall 2025 | 10.1% | 4,513 admitted of 44,596 source |
| International | Fall 2025 | 7.3% | 716 admitted of 9,758 source |
| Georgia residents | Fall 2024 | 33.1% | 3,536 admitted of 10,674 source |
| Out-of-state (US) | Fall 2024 | 10.4% | 3,992 admitted of 38,320 source |
| International | Fall 2024 | 8.2% | 885 admitted of 10,795 source |
| Georgia residents | Fall 2023 | 36.6% | 3,459 admitted of 9,450 source |
| Out-of-state (US) | Fall 2023 | 12.5% | 4,328 admitted of 34,535 source |
| International | Fall 2023 | 9.9% | 835 admitted of 8,392 source |
| Early action (non-restrictive) | Fall 2023 | 15.9% | 5,413 admitted of 34,059 early action applications; 2,436 enrolled source |
| Wait list | Fall 2025 | 13.4% | 653 admitted of 4,875 who accepted a wait-list place (7,651 offered) source |
| Wait list | Fall 2024 | 4.5% | 201 admitted of 4,471 who accepted a wait-list place (6,481 offered) source |
| Wait list | Fall 2023 | 1.5% | 60 admitted of 4,016 who accepted a wait-list place (5,809 offered) source |
| Yield (admits who enrolled) | Fall 2025 | 45.6% | 4,071 enrolled of 8,921 admitted source |
| Yield (admits who enrolled) | Fall 2024 | 45.8% | 3,850 enrolled of 8,413 admitted source |
| Transfer | Fall 2025 | 20.0% | 789 admitted of 3,939 source |
| Transfer | Fall 2024 | 20.7% | 846 admitted of 4,093 source |
| Transfer | Fall 2023 | 27.8% | 906 admitted of 3,254 source |
What the numbers mean
Georgia Tech has become more selective: applications rose from 52,377 for fall 2023 to 66,881 for fall 2025 while admits stayed between 8,400 and 8,900, taking the acceptance rate from 16.5% to 13.3%. About 46% of admitted students enroll.
Residency matters a great deal. For fall 2025 Georgia residents were admitted at 29.5% (3,691 of 12,527), out-of-state US applicants at 10.1% and international applicants at 7.3% (716 of 9,758). Georgia residents made up 41% of admits (3,691 of 8,921) and 59.5% of enrolled students (2,422 of 4,071). The in-state rate has fallen from 36.6% for fall 2023.
Georgia Tech has no Early Decision plan (the Common Data Set marks it n/a) but offers non-restrictive early action. The only published early action counts are in the fall 2023 edition: 34,059 early action applications and 5,413 admitted, 15.9%. The 2024-25 and 2025-26 editions do not give them, so no later early action rate is shown. The wait list is volatile: 653 of those who accepted a place were admitted for fall 2025, against 201 for fall 2024 and 60 for fall 2023.
International first-year applicants must show English proficiency by a University System of Georgia approved method. Georgia Tech's admissions page does not state its own minimums, so the system minimums apply as a floor: TOEFL iBT 3.5 on the new 1–6 scale (69 on the old scale, for tests before 2026) and IELTS Academic 6; the USG notes institutions may set higher scores. The Duolingo English Test and recorded interviews do not satisfy the requirement but are considered in holistic review.
Georgia Tech TOEFL and IELTS requirements
Minimums for international applicants from the university's own pages. Since 21 January 2026 TOEFL iBT reports a 1–6 band score; the notes give the older 0–120 equivalent where the university states one. Convert TOEFL and IELTS scores.
Undergraduate (international first-year)
TOEFL iBT: 3.5 on the 1–6 scale (69 on the 0–120 scale if taken before 2026). This is the University System of Georgia minimum; Georgia Tech's page does not state a higher one.
IELTS Academic: 6 (IELTS Academic; University System of Georgia minimum)
International applicants must show English proficiency by a USG approved method. PTE Academic 53 is also listed by the USG. The Duolingo English Test and interviews (InitialView, Vericant) do not satisfy the USG requirement but are considered in holistic review. USG institutions may set higher required scores than the system minimums.
University System of Georgia: English proficiency requirements · checked 9 October 2026
Georgia Tech's own statement
TOEFL iBT: Refers to USG approved methods; no separate score listed.
Georgia Tech's international first-year page requires English proficiency under the USG policy and lists no Georgia Tech-specific minimum.
Georgia Tech Undergraduate Admission: International first-year · checked 9 October 2026
Check your score against Georgia Tech
Take a free 2026-format TOEFL mock test for a 1–6 band estimate, then compare it with the minimum above and with other universities' requirements.
Free TOEFL mock testFAQ
What is Georgia Tech's acceptance rate?
Georgia Tech admitted 8,921 of 66,881 first-year applicants for fall 2025, an acceptance rate of 13.3%, according to its Common Data Set. It was 14.1% for fall 2024 and 16.5% for fall 2023.
What is Georgia Tech's in-state acceptance rate?
For fall 2025 Georgia Tech admitted 3,691 of 12,527 Georgia resident applicants, 29.5%, compared with 36.6% for fall 2023. Out-of-state US applicants were admitted at 10.1% (4,513 of 44,596).
What is Georgia Tech's international acceptance rate?
For fall 2025 Georgia Tech admitted 716 of 9,758 international first-year applicants, 7.3%. It was 8.2% for fall 2024 (885 of 10,795) and 9.9% for fall 2023 (835 of 8,392).
What is Georgia Tech's early action acceptance rate?
The only published figure is in the fall 2023 Common Data Set: 5,413 admitted of 34,059 early action applications, 15.9%. Georgia Tech has no binding Early Decision plan. The later editions do not give early action counts.
What is Georgia Tech's transfer acceptance rate?
Georgia Tech admitted 789 of 3,939 transfer applicants for fall 2025 (20.0%), 846 of 4,093 for fall 2024 (20.7%) and 906 of 3,254 for fall 2023 (27.8%).
What is Georgia Tech's waitlist acceptance rate?
For fall 2025 Georgia Tech offered 7,651 applicants a wait-list place, 4,875 accepted and 653 were admitted, 13.4% of those who accepted. For fall 2024 it admitted 201 of 4,471 (4.5%) and for fall 2023 60 of 4,016 (1.5%).
What TOEFL score does Georgia Tech require?
Georgia Tech follows University System of Georgia minimums for international first-year applicants: TOEFL iBT 3.5 on the 1–6 scale (69 if taken before 2026), IELTS Academic 6 or PTE Academic 53. The system allows institutions to set higher scores, and Georgia Tech's admissions page does not list its own.